10 years ago… Katie and Kacie dominating the Knight of Columbus Free Throw Contest


March 16, 2024

5 years ago – Mar. 16, 2019

The Roseau Rams girls basketball team was headed to State for the 5th year in a row.

Emma Vatnsdal, daughter of Cory and Mary Vatnsdal of Roseau and Roseau High School Class of 2014 graduate, won 3rd place in the Minnesota Newspaper Association’s Dave Pyle New Journalist Award.

Roseau Wrestlers of the Week were Danny Nelson (4th grade), Brevyn Srnsky-Wagner (Kindergarten) and Cael Mack (2nd Grade).

Named to the University of Minnesota Twin Cities 2018 Fall Dean’s List were Ivy Braaten of Roseau and Robert Astrup of Warroad.

The Wannaska Lion’s were hosting a Pancake Breakfast on March 17 at the Community Center to benefit Mitch Berger to help defray medical expenses.

10 years ago – Mar. 15, 2014

Roseau High School senior Zach Yon was selected to the All-Tournament Team at the recently concluded Minnesota State Hockey Tournament where the Rams earned Class 2A consolation honors. Then the following night at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul he was honored at center ice as the recipient of the Herb Brooks Award.

Thanks to the “Toyota Drive for Education Contest” on Facebook which Mrs. Katie Hedlund, a business and social studies teacher at Roseau High School entered, she will receive two checks totaling $10,000. The money will be spent on technology for her classroom.

Isak David Hoberg was born on February 28 at Fairview-Riverside in Minneapolis to Chris and Amy Hoberg of Mounds View. First-time grandparents are David and Sharon Grafstrom of Roseau.

The Knight of Columbus regional free throw winners from Roseau were Katie Borowicz (age 10-made 23/25) and Kacie Borowicz (age 12- made 22/25).

Michael Dunkel of Warroad won $10,000 by playing the Lottery’s Lucky 7’s Game Book.

25 years ago – Mar. 13, 1999

The Roseau Ram boys hockey team was the Class AA State Hockey Champs. They defeated Rochester Mayo 4-2, the Holy Angels Stars 6-2 and the Hastings Raiders 4-0. Earning All-Tourney honors for the Rams were Jake Brandt, Derrick Byfuglien, Mike Klema and Jesse Modahl. Bruce Olson the Ram’s head coach was honored as the Class AA Head Coach of the Year and Jim Lundbohm was named Assistant Coach of the Year. The Rams topped off their great year with a GPA of 3.64 and winning the Good Sportsman’s Award at the tournament.

Members of the Roseau Ram boys basketball team were: Dan Adkins, Dustin Mertens, Tony Herling, Justin Hendrickson, Isaac Lang, Aaron Anderson, Nick Herling, Josh Parrill, Nathan Olafson, Adam Pavek, Justin Oster, Mike Sallberg, Nate Anderson and Joel Robinson.

The admissions office of Valley City State University announced that Mark Fabian, son of Dan and Roxanne Fabian of Roseau, was awarded the Grace Ellis Bowen V-500 Scholarship in the amount of $1,000 for the 1999-2000 academic year.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024